09252017Headline:

Sacramento, California

HomeCaliforniaSacramento

Email Amber Wheat Amber Wheat on LinkedIn Amber Wheat on Twitter Amber Wheat on Facebook
Amber Wheat
Amber Wheat
Contributor •

Fatal Hit and Run in Fair Oaks

Comments Off

Never leave the scene if you are involved in an accident.

California Vehicle Code section 20001, et seq. states quite clearly that if you are involved in a collision, YOU MUST STOP. Information that must be given if requested is driver’s license, vehicle registration, current residence address of the driver and of the registered owner, and other valid identification to the other involved parties.

Penalties for leaving the scene are quite severe and can range from a maximum of six months in prison to a minimum addition of five years to a vehicular manslaughter sentence. Fines range from $1,000.00 to $10,000.00.

And with the technology at the disposal of the investigating officers, you will be found and caught. This man left the scene because he did not want to go back to jail and now if he is convicted of vehicular manslaughter, five additional years can be added to his sentence.